05 Dec 2019

10 Nobel Peace Prizes that have changed the world

Nobel Peace prizes
Photo 10 Nobel Peace Prizes that have changed the world

Some people endeavor every day to promote peace on earth. For example, the ambassador of peace, Prem Rawat, takes the initiative to share words of peace through his website and his foundation. The Prem Rawat (TPRF) Foundation was named after him and carries out humanitarian actions to achieve this goal.

Apart from that, many other good-willed people and organizations have taken outstanding initiatives to preserve global harmony. That is why the Nobel Peace prizes were attributed to them. This article will brief you on 10 Nobel Peace Prizes that have changed the world.

Here are 10 Nobel Peace Prizes that have changed the world

1- President Woodrow Wilson (1920)

Many countries in the world contributed to the World War I. The war affected greatly the world security and caused many casualties as well as material losses. The US President Wilson played a key role to restore harmony through the peace talks, and received the Nobel Peace prize in 1029.

2- Linus Pauling (1962)

Linus Pauling was a chemist who received the Nobel Prize twice. He was aware of the danger of nuclear weapons for humanity. Thus, he objected to testing such hazardous weapons above the ground. The Nobel Peace prize was awarded to him for his efforts to put an end to this kind of nuclear testing in 1962.

3- International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (2017)

This international organization is based in Switzerland. It was honored as a Nobel Peace Prize recipient for its awareness-raising initiatives on the danger of nuclear weapons on humanity, and for achieving to sign a treaty to prohibit their uses.

4- International Peace Bureau (IPB) (1910)

The IPB was established in 1891.It is one the oldest international peace federations. It was renowned for its role in creating a liaison the peace organizations from many countries.

5- Elihu Root (1912)

This American peace advocate got the honor for the Nobel Peace Prize because of his strong interest in international arbitration. In fact, he was the one to initiate the world court.

6- Nathan Soderblom (1930)

This religious figure from Sweden brought a positive change in the world of religion. He was recognized for his initiatives for ecumenical unity among churches. Furthermore, he also promoted the churches' involvement in global peacekeeping.

7- International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) (1917, 1944, 1963)

This peace organization, which is based in Switzerland, deserved to win the Nobel Peace Prize three times for its tremendous deeds in promoting the rights of war prisoners during the World War I. It also played a key role in establishing their rights to get back in touch with their families.

8- Office of the Unites Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) (1954, 1981)

This organization is also known as the United Nations Refugee Agency. It was honored twice as a Nobel Peace Prize laureate for its mandate to protect the rights of refugees. It is in charge of providing humanitarian care to refugees, and assist them in their repatriation to their homeland, or their resettlement to another country.

9- Martin Luther King, Jr.(1964)

As a civil rights activist, he became a Nobel Peace Prize laureate for his peaceful struggle for the rights of colored people in the USA. He demonstrated that it is possible to struggle without any violence. He was renowned for his speech : “I have a dream”.

10- Sean MacBride (1974)

He was a Nobel Peace Prize laureate for being strongly a promoter of human rights in Europe. He presided over the International Peace Bureau and the Commission of Namibia in 1972.